top of page

The Sun

The Sun is a star located at the centre of our solar system. It's diameter is approximately 109 times that of Earth and it has a surface temperature of around 5,500 degrees Celsius. From Earth, we see the Sun as a bright yellow or white disc in the sky. Just as it's light and heat are essential for life on our planet, it's position will show which areas of your life are particularly energised by the Sun's energy.


The Sun rotates on its axis about once every 27 days, with different parts of its surface rotating at slightly different speeds. This differential rotation creates magnetic fields.  

In astrology, the Sun is one of the most important celestial bodies and determines an individual's Zodiac Sign. There are 12 Zodiac Signs in total, each representing a different period of the year and each being associated with certain characteristics and qualities. The position of the Sun at the time of a person's birth influences personality, strengths and weaknesses and life path. It also represents vitality, creativity, leadership and ego. The Sun is often associated with masculine energy and is seen as a symbol of power and authority.


The Zodiac Sign of Leo is ruled by the Sun. 

The Moon is another important celestial body in astrology and plays a significant role in astrological reports. The position of the Moon at an individual's time of birth is said to influence one's emotional nature, instincts and inner world. The Moon can represent nurturing and receptivity. It is the feminine principle. As the Moon reflects the Sun's rays, it is constantly changing thereby influencing one's daily needs. 

A full cycle of the Moon takes 29,5 days, going through the four main phases from a New Moon, the First Quarter, a Full Moon and then finally the Last Quarter. Each phase influences the Earth and therefore each of us in differing ways. These days many people have lost touch with the Moon's messages and need to re-learn how to connect with one's inner self in order to reap the benefits of the Moon's support and guidance. 

The Zodiac Sign of Cancer is ruled by the Moon.

The Moon


Mercury is considered the planet of communication, intellect and mental agility. The position of Mercury in an individual's natal chart is said to influence the way one thinks, communicates and one's ability to learn and process information. Mercury is also associated with creativity, adaptability, and resourcefulness. It governs writing, speaking, and learning. It influences how we express ourselves verbally and non-verbally. 

Mercury is never more than 28 degrees away from the Sun and completes it's cycle lasts 88 days. Sometimes it appears to be moving backwards and this is called being retrograde. During these times Mercury's energy is diminished or changed and often we are forced to revisit events that need completion.

The Zodiac Signs of Gemini and Virgo are ruled by Mercury. 

Venus is considered the planet of love, beauty, and pleasure. The position of Venus in an individual's natal chart is said to influence their romantic nature, artistic sensibility and sense of harmony. Venus is associated with art, music, fashion and design. It governs our aesthetic preferences as well as our ability to attract and appreciate beauty in others.  Insight into an individual's personal style, values in relationships, and approach to love and romance are also shown. 

The movement of Venus through the Zodiac Signs can indicate periods of increased social activity or opportunities for new romance. A complete Venus cycle takes 225 days.

Venus rules the signs of Libra and Taurus.




Mars is considered the planet of energy, action, and desire. The position of Mars in an individual's natal chart is said to influence their drive, determination, and sexuality. Mars is associated with physical strength, athleticism and courage. It governs our ability to take risks and pursue our goals with passion and intensity. 

Mars takes 1 year and 9 months for a full cycle and governs Aries.

Jupiter is considered the planet of expansion, growth, and abundance and it's position in an individual's natal chart is said to influence their beliefs, values and opportunities for success. Jupiter is associated with good fortune, wisdom, and optimism. It governs our ability to see the bigger picture and find meaning in life. 

It takes Jupiter 11 years and 9 months to complete a full cycle.

Sagittarius is ruled by the planet Jupiter.



Saturn is considered the planet of responsibility, discipline and limitation. Work ethic, sense of duty and the ability to handle challenges is influenced by Saturn. It also provides insight into an individual's approach to responsibility and commitment, as well as any potential obstacles in in these areas.  Saturn is associated with hard work, structure and perseverance and governs our ability to set boundaries and take a practical approach to achieving our goals. 

Saturn completes it's cycle every 29 years and 6 month. Often astrogers speak about the Satrun Returns - these are noteworthy times in an individuals life when major changes occur. It is a time of transformation and individual growth.

Saturn rules the Zodiac Sign of Capricorn. 

Uranus - the planet of innovation, rebellion, and unexpected change. The position of Uranus is said to influence their approach to change, sense of individuality and desire for freedom. Uranus is associated with originality, independence and progress. It governs our ability to break free from traditional norms and embrace new ideas. 

In the Birth Chart, Uranus can provide insight into ones approach to change and innovation, as well as any potential areas where sudden upheaval or disruption may occur.

A very slow planet, Uranus takes 84 years to complete a cycle. Therefore, it's presence will be felt only in specific areas of life,

Aquarius is ruled by Uranus.



Neptune is considered the planet of spirituality, dreams and imagination. The position of Neptune in an individual's natal chart is said to influence their intuition, creativity, and ability to connect with the divine. It is also associated with mysticism, compassion and artistic expression and governs our ability to tap into our subconscious mind and access deeper levels of awareness. 

However, Neptune also accents any potential areas that may be susceptible to confusion or deception.


It takes Neptune 164 years to complete a cycle. spending some 13 years in each Zodiac Sign. It's placement will influence a generation, but it's aspects with other planets can indicate periods of increased sensitivity or potential for spiritual growth and awakening. 

Neptune governs the Zodiac Sign of Pisces.

Pluto is the planet of transformation, power and regeneration. It's position in a Birth Chart influences the ability to undergo deep personal transformation and experience profound change. It is about challenges that cause transformation - when you have to clear out the old, to make room for the new. Pluto is associated with intensity, secrecy, and control. It governs our ability to confront the darker aspects of ourselves and release old patterns that no longer serve us. 

Another very slow planet, Pluto takes 248 years to complete a full cycle and therefore will only affect certain areas of an individual's Birth Chart.

Scorpio is ruled by Pluto.


bottom of page